Baked BBQ Rib Dinner

So Im kinda on a bbq kick right now. After making my BBQ baked Chicken meal I was inspired to keep it up and make ribs for dinner. At my house it is snowing and too cold for me to want to bust out the grill so I slow cook them in the oven and they still turn out amazingly flavorful and tender.

I love comfort food like ribs, its something that is a fan favorite in my house throughout the year. It takes awhile to cook but theres not a lot that you really need to do to throw it all together. I think I spent a total of 30 mins doing prep, the rest of the time it was all the oven doing the work.

Let me list the ingredients and we can jump right in!

Ribs

  • 2lb of bone in pork ribs
  • 4 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • Brown sugar bourbon McCormick seasoning (or your fav rib rub)

 

Potatoes

  • 2 Large red skinned potatoes (or multiple little ones depending on size)
  •  Tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • italian seasoning

 

Brown sugar baby carrots

 

  • 3/4 bag of baby carrots
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • 2 Tbps brown sugar

 

For the ribs I usually get them all ready and pop them in the fridge until I’m ready to start cooking. You can also have this all done the night before to make it that much easier.

I line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Get enough foil that you’ll be able to completely wrap the ribs after you season them.

This aluminum foil thing is gonna be a trend in my recipes as I hate cleaIMG_5265ning and dishes.

 

Lay your ribs with the meat down on the foil. If your meat still has the membrane on it remove it. Mine did not, I had the butcher remove it for me. Majority of the time if you ask the butcher at the store he will be happy to do it for you.

 

 

img_5266-1.jpeg

 

Rub half the apple cider vinegar all over and then generously use your rib rub all over that too! Flip those bad boys over and repeat on the meaty side.

 

 

After they are all seasoned, add the apple juice right in there and wrap the ribs in thefoil. You want the apple juice to help flavor the meat while it cooks low and slow. Below is a picture of my little rib packet.

img_5267.jpeg

Now at this point you have options. You can make this ahead of time and just pop in the fridge till you’re ready to start dinner like I did and mentioned before or you can just keep cooking.

These will cook in the oven at 200 degrees for 3 hours. Low and slow. If you don’t wanna cook them so long, 250 for 2 hours works as well. Keep in mind this recipe takes a total of 4 hours start to finish in the oven. As mentioned before I only did anything for like 30 minutes when it comes to prep.

About 20 minutes before the ribs come out, you can prep the side. If you’re just here for ribs you can just scroll down.

So I took a 9 X 13 pan and made 2 foiled sections. See what I mean below.

img_5272.jpeg

See how its divided in the middle. Im literally gonna make both sides in one pan. GENIUS!

img_5274.jpeg

First the potatoes. So simple My red skinned potatoes were huge so i only used two, Use

your best judgement as to how much to cut up based on the side of your potatoes and the amount of people you’re feeding. This divided foil technique might not work for you if you’re feeding a lot of people. I am literally cooking for 2 1/2 people. 1/2 being my mini me tiny human.

Just chop them into bite size pieces, put them into one side of the foil, and toss with a bit of olive oil, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning. Its that simple. These really do come out so good and are my go to potato recipe. We are definitely a meat and potato family.

For the carrots I just dump them straight from the bag into the other side of the divided foil, toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, and then just crumble the brown sugar lightly over top. Oh so easy!

This is how it should look.

img_5275-1.jpeg

 

Back to the ribs!!!!

img_5276.jpeg

 

IMG_5277

 

 

Now take the ribs out and drain all the liquid. flip
them and paint the back of them with your favorite bbq sauce.

 

 

img_5281-e1515626509145.jpeg

They should look like this. They are still not done but pretty darn close. We only have 1 more hour of cooking left before everything is done!

Crank the heat up to 350 and put the ribs and the sides into the oven and cook for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes paint just the top of the ribs with another layer of bbq sauce and stir the sides with a spoon. Cook another 30 minutes and at the end of that time just double check that the carrots and potatoes are tender. If they are take everything out and let the ribs sit for 10 minutes then cut into and enjoy! Simple.

IMG_5285

IMG_5287

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thats it. After all the time and minimal effort its time to dig in. The ribs literally fell off the bone and the sauce was just so sticky fantastic amazing. Yes thats the only way to describe them. Sticky. Fantastic. Amazing. Hubby had seconds, and I won’t lie so did I. The carrots had just the right amount of sweet from the brown sugar and the potatoes paired perfectly because potatoes in general are just delicious.

img_5294.jpeg

 

Tender is another perfect word to describe these ribs. I love how simple these are to throw together. After they are in the oven I am able to do whatever I gotta do. *Clean the house* They do their own meaty thing and turn out so amazing. I hope you take the time to give my recipe a try and prepare this meal for your family. Its a huge hit with my family and I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too!

Leave a comment