Steak fajita a la crock pot

IMG_2357

Ok so the other day I decided to venture out and try to make my own fajitas instead of buying those premise fajita box meals. I normally do chicken fajitas but I wanted to try steak because.. Well steak is amazing. Especially when cooked correctly! Hubby is sometimes reluctant to try things that are out of his comfort zone, so I’ll admit I was more than a little nervous. I figured I’d try a crockpot recipe to slow cook the meat to make sure it became fall apart tender. Also a crockpot recipe means I throw it together in the morning and it’s ready by time hubby comes home. Great for busy days when you can’t commit to slaving away at the stove to make a delicious full flavor dinner. Here’s what I used for this tasty dish.

  • 2 onions chopped
  • 1 red pepper chopped
  • 1 green pepper chopped
  • 1 & 1/2 lb flank steak
  • Pack of tortillas
  • Can of rotel tomatoes
  • 3 cloves garlic chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp brown sugar
  • Sour cream, cheese, and other toppings optional.

Have your flank steak out for about 30 minutes before cooking. chop all your veggies up and prep your seasoning by combing all the seasonings.

Combine all the veggies, seasonings, and the can of rotel tomatoes in a bowl. Put half of the mixture into your crock pot. Now heat up a big pan with about 2 tbsp of olive oil. Salt and pepper both sides of your flank steak and put it in the hot pan, cooking about 5 minutes each side or until it gets some color.

The steak will not be fully cooked at this point, don’t worry lol. Place the steak on top of the veggies in the crockpot.

Add the remaining veggies on top of that to cover the meat. This will help infuse all the spices and flavored together throughout the entire dish.

You now cover it and let it cook 8-9 hours on low setting. Flip the meat about 5 hours in. once it’s done cooking take the meat out and let it rest about 5-10 minutes then cut into strips AGAINST the grain.

At this point I like to transfer all the veggies and juices into a different bowl. I return the meat to the bowl with all the goodies in it. I keep this and serve portions from this so any remainder I need to save as leftovers will not dry out.  At this point I’ll heat up my tortillas in the oven by wrapping them in aluminum foil and popping them in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes.  I usually do some boxed rice or refried beans as well as sour cream, Guac, and cheese.

Delicious. What I like most is that it comes together soo soo fast. it’s so flavorful and the meat literally falls apart, who could want more?! Pair this with some margaritas and invite some friends over and you got yourself a fiesta! Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

