homemade pizza

IMG_2205

The other day when I made spaghetti sauce, Hubby came home and thought we were having pizza that night. He was so excited then I told him I wasn’t making pizza. He got sad, then realized I was making homemade spaghetti and got excited again. I decided to make that pizza he had wanted so badly. So I improvised and instead of making my normal pizza sauce to go on it, I used what was left of my jar of spaghetti sauce. Seeing as it has tomatoes, herbs, and a little bit of hamburger in it, You couldn’t really tell the difference, which was a win for me! Hubs doesn’t mind ordering pizza, but he claims my crust is better than those chain restaurants and swears by the sliced mozzarella instead of the packaged shredded stuff you get from delivery. The pan I use is a 14in pan with holes in the bottom, which helps crisp up the dough nicely. I wanna get a pizza stone soon though, that would bring this pizza to a whole different level of awesome.

Now when I tell you the ingredients, please note that I use bread flour, and its really important to use bread flour over all purpose for the right texture in the dough. Ive tried all purpose and I felt like that was just a waste of time and ingredients. It was chewy and not in a good way. I tried the recipe again but with bread flour and it was a whole different pizza.. in a good way! Now I won’t be in your kitchen judging your every move so do what you gotta do, but I warned you lol.

  • 1 3/4 -2 cups bread flour and extra for dusting
  • 3/4 cup warm water separated leaving 1/8 cup aside
  • 2 tbp salt
  • 1 tbp sugar plus 1 tsp
  • 1 1/8 tsp active yeast
  • 2 tbsp olive oil plus some for drizzling
  • fresh mozzarella
  • fresh basil
  • fresh oregano
  • jar of pizza sauce or make your own (diced tomatoes, tomato paste, oregano, marjoram, basil, garlic. heat olive oil in sauce pan, cook garlic, then add everything else and simmer 10 mins, use as is for chunky sauce or use an immersion blender for a smooth sauce)

Ok now first thing you need to do is get your yeast ready. In a small dish put your yeast, the tsIMG_2190p of sugar, and 1/8 of warm water ( around 110 degIMG_2188rees). Leave it for about 5-10 minutes and it will bubble and double in size once its ready.

Ok I know it doesn’t look it but my yeast really did “bubble and double” haha

Once your yeast is ready, Your going to want to start your dough. Make when your measuring yoIMG_2189ur bread flour out, your leveling it as well to make it rather precise. Start with 1 3/4 cup of flour and add more as you go. You will want a smooth, elastic dough that doesn’t really stick to your hands. I make this in my stand mixer but you can do it in a bowl by hand as well. To your flour add the Tbsps of salt, sugar, olive oil and remainder of water. if its still really sticky, add more flour Tbsp at a time but do not overall exceed 2 cups of flour.

Once its all nicely incorporated and the right consistency. Knead that dough for a good 5-10 minutes. Make sure when you’re doing this the table you’re working on and your hands are lightly floured.

IMG_2191

Now you need to form your dough into a nice ball and flour the outside of it. Get a good sized bowl and brush it with some olive oil. Place your dough ball in there and cover with either a clean kitchen towel or a piece of plastic wrap that you oiled. Put it in a warm place for about 2 hours until it has doubled in size.

Once its double, You’re ready to rock and roll. Get your oven preheated to 425 degrees and roll your dough out. Again making sure your hands and surface is lightly fIMG_2194loured. Work the dough out but make sure that you aren’t so rough that you make holes in the dough. Put theIMG_2193 dough into the oven for about 10 minutes until the dough is pretty cooked but the edges are browned.

At this point, your pizza is almost done! Now your have to add toppings. Feel free to use whatever you like but this is just what we like in my house.

Drizzle a light spiral of olive oil onto the crust. Then add your sauce lightly.

IMG_2195

Get some fresh mozzarella and slice it up, place it on the pizza, then add some fresh basil and fresh oregano. Brush the crust with melted butter using a pastry brush.

IMG_2197

Put that bad boy back into the oven for another 10-15 minutes. About halfway through take it out and brush the crust again with melted butter and turn the pizza. Continue cooking until the crust is a nice, crispy golden brown color and the mozzarella is melted.

Let your pizza sit for about 5-10 minutes before you cut it and you’re good to go. This is a great way to spend time with the family, make it a pizza night and add toppings together. You can even break the dough up into personal sized pizzas and everyone can add their own toppings. Hope you enjoy my homemade pizza. Id say I did but I only got a slice before the hubby ate it all. I can’t be mad though, means I’m doing something right in the kitchen!!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

