Hubby’s favorite pasta “orange” sauce

IMG_1881Hubby loves pasta. I love pasta. Tonight felt like a pasta night. Unfortunately I was rushing dinner tonight and instead of making homemade ravioli like I would normally do, I picked up some from the store. That was a mistake as my hubby is spoiled and as he puts it, “nothing store bought compares to anything you make honey”. He says it so convincingly that I believe he is being completely sincere or he just doesn’t get out enough. I must say I think my homemade ravioli is better, but I could also just be being cocky. Either way, I did make the sauce myself. Hubby calls it my “orange” sauce. It is not the orange sauce you would get on chicken in a Chinese restaurant, but a mix of tomatoes, cream, cheese, and some other goodies. You can add different meats to it (we normally do seafood like in this recipe), omit meat all together, and you can pair it will different types of pastas including ravioli, fettuccine, spaghetti, tortellini, etc… Its my go to sauce when I wanna feel kinda fancy

Here are the ingredients I used tonight:

  • 2 Packs of shrimp and lobster ravioli
  • 2 Cloves garlic minced or pushed through a garlic press
  • Olive oil
  • salt, pepper
  • Parsley
  • Dry sherry
  • 4 oz Lump crab
  • 1/2 lb Shrimp
  • Can diced tomatoes
  • Small can tomato paste
  • 1/2 Cup heavy cream
  • 1/2-1 Cup grated parmesan cheeseIMG_1872

As I’ve said before feel free to do your own thing, leave the seafood out, use fettuccine instead, or add more or less cheese… we like cheese in our house so we always add a lot haha. So here we go with how I make it, also if you haven’t realized it yet this is just a recipe for sauce, not ravioli. Ill post another blog about homemade ravioli soon though. It kicks the store bought stuff in the butt! So here we go… for real this time.

So I heat up some olive oil in a big sauté pan on about medium heat, add garlic and cook about 30 seconds. Add about 1/2 cup of real sherry to that bad boy!! Try to use real sherry, the cooking sherry you get in the grocery store has too much sodium and really changes the flavor. A bottle of Sherry would run about $5-6… not bad and you get more than what comes in the small cooking sherry bottleIMG_1876s.

cook the sherry down to at least half. add the crab and shrimp. Then add the tomatoes, paste, cream and stir. Time to grate in some cheese!! You can buy pre grated cheese but I like to do it myself. I personally think the taste is better. It melts better. tastes better. Makes me feel fancy when I do it myself. Now Im not gonna kid you here. See that amount of cheese in that picture… After I took this picture, I grated another cheesy mountain about the same size into that. In my house we love cheese, but then again, whats not to love. Cheese makes the world go round.  Mix this all up until that delicious cheesy mountain is melted into that amazing sauce your making. Smell that??? If it smells like magic, then you’re doing it right!

At this point not too much left to do, drop your pasta and have it waiting. Add a little salt and pepper to taste. Throw in some parsley, preferably fresh. Finally mix your pasta with that delicious sauce you just made. If you’re feeling extra fancy, garnish with a little more fresh parm and parsley. BAM… That just happened. Sit back, feel like a culinary superstar in your kitchen and enjoy. IMG_1877

Leave a Reply

